Women's Crew Gains 22nd Consecutive Berth into NCAA Championships

Women's Crew Gains 22nd Consecutive Berth into NCAA Championships

Heat and Lane Assignments | NCAA Release | NCAA Selection Show

INDIANAPOLIS – Brown University women's crew has earned an at-large bid into the 2018 NCAA Division I Women's Rowing Championships set for Nathan Benderson Park in Sarasota, Fla., from May 25-27, the NCAA announced on Tuesday.

Brown will compete in the NCAA Championships for the 22nd consecutive year and stands as one of three programs, along with Princeton and Washington, to take part in all 22 championships since the event's inception in 1997. Under head coach John Murphy the Bears have won seven NCAA titles, with the most recent occurring in 2011.

Brown's first varsity eight earned the No. 13 seed and will race in heat four on Friday, May 25 at 9:36 a.m. The Bears will face fourth-seeded Texas, fifth-seeded Ohio State, 12th-seeded Wisconsin, 20th-seeded UCF, and 21st-seeded Rhode Island.

The Bears' second varsity eight captured the No. 13 seed and will compete in heat four on Friday at 10:24 a.m. The crew will face fourth-seeded Ohio State, fifth-seeded Michigan, 12th-seeded Yale, 20th-seeded UCF, and 21st-seeded Navy.

The program's varsity four gained the No. 8 seed and will race in heat one on Friday at 10:36 a.m. The Bears will meet top-seeded Washington, ninth-seeded Stanford, 16th-seeded Gonzaga, and 17th-seeded Southern California.

The championship, this year co-hosted by the University of Central Florida and the Suncoast Aquatic Nature Center Association, is composed of 22 teams. Eleven conferences were awarded automatic qualification and the remaining 11 slots were filled with at-large selections to complete the championship field.

Teams qualifying for the championship as an automatic qualifier or as an at-large are required to field two boats of eight rowers and one boat of four rowers. For the first varsity eight, second varsity eight and varsity four, all 22 boats are seeded into four heats.

Brown will enter the championship coming off a third-place team finish at the Ivy League Championship. At the Ivy Championship on Sunday, Brown won the C varsity four, claimed silver in the third varsity eight, gained bronze in the second varsity eight, A varsity four, and B varsity four, and placed fourth in the first varsity eight. 

Automatic Qualifiers (11):
Central Florida (American Athletic Conference)
Gonzaga (West Coast Conference)
Jacksonville (Metro Atlantic Athletic Conference)
Navy (Patriot League)
Northeastern (Colonial Athletic Association)
Ohio State (Big Ten Conference)
Princeton (Ivy League)
Rhode Island (Atlantic 10 Conference)
Texas (Big 12 Conference)
Virginia (Atlantic Coast Conference)
Washington (Pac-12 Conference) 

At-Large Selections (11):
Southern California
Washington State

2018 NCAA Division I Women's Rowing Championships Seeding
Seed I Eights II Eights Fours
1 Washington Washington Washington
2 Stanford California California
3 California Virginia Ohio State
4 Texas Ohio State Virginia
5 Ohio State Michigan Texas
6 Michigan Texas Yale
7 Iowa Stanford Michigan
8 Princeton Iowa Brown
9 Yale Southern Cal Stanford
10 Southern Cal Wisconsin Wisconsin
11 Virginia Princeton Indiana
12 Wisconsin Yale Washington St.
13 Brown Brown Princeton
14 Indiana Indiana Iowa
15 Washington St. Washington St. Syracuse
16 Syracuse Syracuse Gonzaga
17 Gonzaga Northeastern Southern Cal
18 Navy Gonzaga UCF
19 Northeastern Rhode Island Navy
20 UCF UCF Northeastern
21 Rhode Island Navy Rhode Island
22 Jacksonville Jacksonville Jacksonville