No. 10 Women's Crew Collects All-Conference, Scholar-Athlete Honors from CRCA

No. 10 Women's Crew Collects All-Conference, Scholar-Athlete Honors from CRCA

PROVIDENCE, R.I. – No. 10 Brown University women's crew has earned two CRCA All-Conference selections and 10 CRCA Scholar-Athlete honorees, with senior Jennifer Mundelius gaining recognition in both categories, the Collegiate Rowing Coaches Association announced on Monday. 

CRCA All-Conference
CRCA Scholar-Athletes

Senior Cicely Madden (Weston, Mass.) and Mundelius (Danville, Calif.) both garnered CRCA All-Conference accolades. A 2017 CRCA First Team All-American, Madden gained First Team All-Ivy honors this spring and earned First Team CRCA All-Region a season ago. A 2017 CRCA Second Team All-American, Mundelius captured Second Team All-Ivy this spring and claimed First Team CRCA All-Region last season.

The Bears' 10 CRCA Scholar-Athletes included sophomore Andrea Bernhardt (Ridgefield, Conn.), sophomore Caitlin Cleary (Princeton, N.J.), senior Geena Fram (Lawrenceville, N.J.), sophomore Julia Lynn (Hamden, Conn.), Mundelius, sophomore Anna Odell (Austin, Texas), junior Sophia Overall (Wellesley, Mass.), junior Sophie Paine (Freeport, Bahamas), sophomore Alaena Roberds (Kirkland, Wash.), and junior Amy Tarczynski (Oakland, Calif.).

Fram, Overall, Paine, and Tarczynski all earned CRCA Scholar-Athlete status for the second time. Tarczynski also gained CoSIDA Academic All-District laurels this spring.

In 2018, the Bears earned their 22nd straight berth in the NCAA Championships and placed 10th as a team for their 21st top-10 finish out of 22 championships.

The CRCA's All-Conference teams are based on a team's regional finish, coaches' recommendations, and 2,000-meter erg scores. To be eligible, student-athletes must have competed in the first varsity eight boat in 75 percent of the team's races. All-Conference choices automatically become eligible for CRCA All-America Awards. The All-Conference teams replace the CRCA's All-Region awards.

To be eligible for a scholar-athlete award, student-athletes must be in their second, third, or fourth year of eligibility, rowed in 75 percent of the team's spring races in an NCAA eligible boat, and maintained a 3.5 cumulative grade point average. 

CRCA All-Conference
Cicely Madden
Jennifer Mundelius 

CRCA Scholar-Athletes
Student-Athlete – Concentration(s)
Andrea Bernhardt – History of Art and Architecture
Caitlin Cleary – History
Geena Fram – Psychology^
Julia Lynn – Applied Mathematics
Jennifer Mundelius – Business, Entrepreneurship and Organizations; Health and Human Biology
Anna Odell – Environmental Science
Sophia Overall – Political Science*
Sophie Paine – Political Science*
Alaena Roberds – Applied Mathematics
Amy Tarczynski – Economics*

* - 2017 CRCA Scholar-Athlete
^ - 2016 CRCA Scholar-Athlete